Sunday, December 6, 2009

Top Facts About Atlanta Motor Speedway

Top Facts About Atlanta Motor Speedway Located just 25 miles south of the city of Atlanta, Georgia, is one of the most sought after destinations outside NASCAR - Atlanta Motor Speedway. Some of the biggest names in racing have won their championship titles here, Alan Kulwicki, Darrell Waltrip, and Dale Eahardt. Built in 1960 and owned by Bruton Smith, Speedway Motorsports Inc., the great Formula One track with 1.54 miles quad oval design with an incredible 24 degrees banking in tus and 5 degrees of bank in direct. At the grand opening of the race, Fireball Roberts became the first Atlanta Speedway Champion. For many years, the last race of the Winston Cup Series has been played and enjoyed in this beautiful circuit. Today, with new galleries, private clubs, and luxury suites, Atlanta Motor Speedway is home to NASCAR Racing Champions! The Bass Pro Shops MBNA 500 is a NASCAR Nextel Cup Stock Car race held at Atlanta Motor Speedway. E 'a race of 500 miles, consisting of 325 laps.The career has had several names over the years, including: Dixie 300 (1960)   Dixie 400 (1961-1966)   Dixie 500 (1967-1979)   Atlanta Joual 500 (1980-1990)   Hardee's 500 (1991)   Hooters 500 (1992-1994)   NAPA 500 (1995-2002) Recent winners of the Bass Pro Shops MBNA 500 are: Carl Edwards 2005   2004 Jimmie Johnson   2003 Jeff Gordon   2002 Kurt Busch (race reduced to 248 laps due to rain)   2001 Bobby Labonté   2000 Jerry Nadeau (Race postponed due to rainy days)   1999 Bobby Labonté   1998 Jeff Gordon (race reduced to 221 laps due to rain)   Bobby Labonté 1997 *   1996 Bobby Labonté   1995 Dale Eahardt   Mark Martin 1994   Rusty Wallace 1993   1992 Bill Elliott   Mark Martin 1991   Morgan Shepherd, 1990   1989 Dale Eahardt   Rusty Wallace 1988   1987 Bill Elliott   1986 Dale Eahardt   1985 Bill Elliott   1984 Dale Eahardt   1983 Neil Bonnett   1982 Bobby Allison   1981 Neil Bonnett   1980 Cale Yarborough   1979 Neil Bonnett   1978 Donnie Allison   Darrell Waltrip 1977 (race shortened to 268 laps due to rain)   1976 Dave Marcis   1975 Buddy Baker   1974 Richard Petty   1973 David Pearson   1972 Bobby Allison   1971 Richard Petty   1970 Richard Petty   Leeroy Yarbrough 1969   Leeroy Yarbrough 1968   1967 Dick Hutcherson   1966 Richard Petty   Marvin Bench 1965   1964 Ned Jarrett   1963 Junior Johnson   1962 Rex White   1961 David Pearson   1960 Fireball RobertsCurry Hayes is the owner of Race Fans Friend, the lead agency for NASCAR tickets online. For years, fans have enjoyed a career in comfort, safety and convenience of purchasing their tickets through the career of NASCAR Fan friend.

No comments:

Post a Comment